Google Chrome

Advice and assistance on computer matters

Moderator: Gazza

Post Reply
User avatar
Hard Top
Joined: Sun 17 Jan, 2010 23:16
Posts: 1239

  Z3 roadster 1.9
Location: Netherlands

Google Chrome

Post by Hard Top » Sun 20 Feb, 2011 16:57

Just had a quick conversation with a forum member who is using Google Chrome.
There is one problem, it does not have a toolbar.
I don't use it, so had a quick 'Google' and someone suggested importing one, like Firefox.

Any suggestions/ ideas would be very welcome.

Cheers, HT
HT

Image

Titan's apprentice. :D
Titan wrote:Occupations ?
Official Devil's Advocate :devil:
Leg Puller
Micky Taker
http://www.lde.nu/index.htm

User avatar
Robert T
Site Admin
Joined: Mon 12 Jun, 2006 11:35
Posts: 10001

  Z3 roadster 1.9
Location: Cheshire

Post by Robert T » Sun 20 Feb, 2011 17:55

It has a toolbar on my version. :?

I don't use it either, but there are a few buttons to the left of the address-bar and a couple to the right. The rightmost one is a little spanner and when clicked presents a menu with most of the usual options on it. There is also a right-click menu on the tab for the page you are looking at.

What exactly is said forum member trying to do? I can't promise an answer as I am also a devout Firefoxer. :)

Cheers R.
Arctic Silver '99 Z3 1.9 & Black '59 Frogeye 1275cc
Image

User avatar
Hard Top
Joined: Sun 17 Jan, 2010 23:16
Posts: 1239

  Z3 roadster 1.9
Location: Netherlands

Post by Hard Top » Sun 20 Feb, 2011 18:06

Hi Robert T,

It was about linking a page, thread from this forum for example, to a post.

Cheers, HT
HT

Image

Titan's apprentice. :D
Titan wrote:Occupations ?
Official Devil's Advocate :devil:
Leg Puller
Micky Taker
http://www.lde.nu/index.htm

User avatar
Dave L2
Joined: Tue 25 Jul, 2006 11:34
Posts: 573

  Z3 roadster 3.0i
Location: North Essex

Post by Dave L2 » Mon 21 Feb, 2011 12:05

Can you not right-click the address bar in Google Chrome to copy the URL and then insert it in the reply using the "URL" button provided by the "Post a Reply" page, in exactly the same way you would in IE?
Image

User avatar
snoops
Joined: Sat 12 Jun, 2010 18:08
Posts: 971

  Z3 roadster 2.8
Location: Lancashire

Post by snoops » Mon 21 Feb, 2011 14:23

Can he not see this kind of setup?

Image
Image...........No Mods...... I like him just the way he is

User avatar
Hard Top
Joined: Sun 17 Jan, 2010 23:16
Posts: 1239

  Z3 roadster 1.9
Location: Netherlands

Post by Hard Top » Mon 21 Feb, 2011 14:45

HT

Image

Titan's apprentice. :D
Titan wrote:Occupations ?
Official Devil's Advocate :devil:
Leg Puller
Micky Taker
http://www.lde.nu/index.htm

User avatar
snoops
Joined: Sat 12 Jun, 2010 18:08
Posts: 971

  Z3 roadster 2.8
Location: Lancashire

Post by snoops » Mon 21 Feb, 2011 14:58

So is he just missing the menu and command bar?? Just tell him to right click on a blank blue area at the top on the right and "tick" the menus he wants.
Image...........No Mods...... I like him just the way he is

User avatar
Robert T
Site Admin
Joined: Mon 12 Jun, 2006 11:35
Posts: 10001

  Z3 roadster 1.9
Location: Cheshire

Post by Robert T » Mon 21 Feb, 2011 15:35

That's what mine looks like. Addressbar is in the middle. I can't see any options that would let you hide this, so I assume it shows all the time.

I think I see one problem - the address bar just shows the site address and not the protocol, so if you just type what you see into a posting on here, it more than likely won't work. If you copy and paste it instead, it automagically prepends http:// onto the front of the link.

If you can get a more accurate description of the problem, I'm sure we can help. :wink:

Cheers R.
Arctic Silver '99 Z3 1.9 & Black '59 Frogeye 1275cc
Image

DC
Joined: Tue 15 Sep, 2009 18:31
Posts: 562

  Z3 roadster 1.9
Location: Inverness-shire

Post by DC » Mon 21 Feb, 2011 15:58

Robert T wrote:If you copy and paste it instead, it automagically prepends http:// onto the front of the link.

Cheers R.
That's how I do it with Chrome, though I usually use Firefox.
Dave.
Dave. 1998 Arctic Silver Z3 M44 1.9 Automatic

User avatar
Hard Top
Joined: Sun 17 Jan, 2010 23:16
Posts: 1239

  Z3 roadster 1.9
Location: Netherlands

Post by Hard Top » Mon 21 Feb, 2011 16:04

Thanks everyone, I will send him a link to this thread. :thumb:

HT
HT

Image

Titan's apprentice. :D
Titan wrote:Occupations ?
Official Devil's Advocate :devil:
Leg Puller
Micky Taker
http://www.lde.nu/index.htm

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests