SS Headers & Manifold

International forum for all Z1 enthusiasts
Jet

blank

SS Headers & Manifold

Post by Jet »

Im no Techie so forgive the silly question, but has anyone fitted a Stainless Steel Manifold (Header) to the Z1?

What are the advantages of a 6 branch Header exactly? I understand it is considered free flowing compared with the original, from the picture it looks like the mixture of exiting gases occur much closer to the Head as opposed to the 6 branch, so is the concern the gases could return into the chamber causing contamination

Can anyone say categorically, a LHD 6 branch E30 3Series Manifold/Header will fit the Z1?

Thanks

Jet
Gazza

M roadster S54

Re: SS Headers & Manifold

Post by Gazza »

Jet wrote:
Can anyone say categorically, a LHD 6 branch E30 3Series Manifold/Header will fit the Z1?

Thanks

Jet
Depends on the position of Ancillary equipment, Mounting points should be the same but the path that the headers take could be different.
Gazza

"Understeer is when you hit the wall with the front of the car, oversteer is when you hit the wall with the rear of the car. Horsepower is how fast you hit the wall and torque is how far you take the wall with you"

Z3 S54 M roadster Image, BMW Z1, BMW M3 CSL, Z4M Coupe
ImageImage
felix

Z1 roadster

Post by felix »

The Z1 shares its manifolds with similar engined cars of the era but the down pipe, cat and pipework to the rear silencer are one piece and unique to the Z1. If headers fitted the engine compartment you would need fabrication work done to fit them to the existing system or get a new centre section fabricated. You would also need to be mindful of the length of the headers, not just the width, so that the flange on the collector isn't the lowest point underneath the car.