Newbie with a poorly Z3 hope you help...............

UK forum for general and technical discussion about the Z3 roadster
007Z3

Z3 roadster 2.0

Newbie with a poorly Z3 hope you help...............

Post by 007Z3 »

Hi out there I'm a relative newbie just learning the ropes - had the Z about 2 months now and love it more each and every day. I live in the Channel Islands and picked up a silver 2000 2.0L auto with 35K on the clock. Garaged and lady owned inc. in the price ! I have spent a long - happy - time cleaning polishing etc and am very proud of him/her (?) however there is a problem that wont go away and I need some help. I've searched the forum but to no avail. When the car is left to idle, even for a short time such as traffic lights, one or more of the cylinders cuts out leading to very rough idling. Pressing the accelerator does not clear it nor will driving to the next set of traffic lights. If you turn the ignition off for more than 10 seconds it will start and run fine. I have changed the plugs and took the car to England for a 3 week 1,850 mile road trip visiting friends and family. (driving on the Island stop starting short distances etc can clog things up). I spoke to someone who said "Z's of that age suffer with degrading rocker cover gaskets and breather pipes"
Does anyone have any experience of this or any ideas ?
I would like, if possible, to do the work myself and very much hope to return the advice/favour one day.............
Sorry for the ramble :dunce:
triumphted

Z3 roadster 2.8

Post by triumphted »

Hi

Didn't own a 2.0 - so no expert. This sounds to me like a Cam / crank position sensor issue. I think the 2.0's have these. Really you need to get it plugged in and a diagnosis ran on Carsoft or something similar to define the issue through fault codes.

The sensors are about £80 IIRC, and with at least two fitted you need to be sure which is at fault before spending money.