Front tyres

UK forum for general and technical discussion about the Z3 roadster
diggerman

Z3 roadster 1.9

Front tyres

Post by diggerman »

Hi everyone
Im a newbie on here, just got a 1.9 Z3 and wondering what is the current tyre of choice for fronts. Have noticed a lot of Falken mentions of old, are they still the choice and if so 452 or 912 on fronts. Have noticed the tramlining effect with worn Bridge stones at the moment

Cheers
Zed Carer

Z3 roadster 2.8

Post by Zed Carer »

Hi and welcome.

There have been quite a few posts re: the use of directional (452's and others) and non-directional (912's and others) tyres. I had only a small amount of tramlining with Goodyear Eagle F1's (directional) on my original 16" wheels that has disappeared with 912's on my 17" wheels.

We do like to see some piccies of new members cars - should get some good ones today in the snow :D

This is a LINK to one of the previous posts.
Hers: Z4 2.0i Sp --------------------- His: Z3 2.8
wonderloaf

Z3 roadster 2.2i

Post by wonderloaf »

Another vote for the 912's here as well, more or less cured the tramlining on my zed as well. Mine has the 17" staggered set up.

Don't know what they're like in the snow though, just looking out my window at the white stuff and wondering whether I should risk it or not :?:
2001 Titan Silver 2.2 Sport
Mike123

M roadster S50

Tyres

Post by Mike123 »

I can't comment on the 912s, but love the 452s, but not in snow and ice :shock:

I've fitted Kumho winter tyres for the second year, which are great, including an exciting but safe drive back from a rural restaurant in yesterday's heavy snow. If I still had the 452s fitted we wouldn't have been able to leave the car park!
wonderloaf

Z3 roadster 2.2i

Post by wonderloaf »

I bought some snow socks earlier in the year but looks like the snow is now melting so probably won't get to try them out. Don't know whether to be disappointed or not...
2001 Titan Silver 2.2 Sport
diggerman

Z3 roadster 1.9