First Test Drive of a 2.8 Z3

UK forum for general and technical discussion about the Z3 roadster
Lancsbob

blank

First Test Drive of a 2.8 Z3

Post by Lancsbob »

Just had my first test drive of a 2.8 & found it really good. The gearbox was
a bit notchy & a weak 2nd syncro on a 45K mls car is this a normal thing in these.
Are gearboxes a bit of a weak spot.
It was a pre facelift car is there any advantages in hanging on for a facelift model.
Did the engines improve any in the later cars? ( twin vanos?)
All these questions, as you can tell i'm a novice regarding BMW's

Regards Bob
Brian4

Z3 roadster 3.0i

Re: First Test Drive of a 2.8 Z3

Post by Brian4 »

As far as I know the gearboxes are reliable enough, but might benefit from an oil change as a few have said improves things, mines and auto so can't comment from personal experience.
Brian
3.0I Topaz Blue

2000 E36/7 Z3 3.0i
2016 F31 335d
2015 F21 118i
Jaxx_ZA

Z3 roadster 3.0i

Post by Jaxx_ZA »

Theres a noticeable difference when driving a z3 that is fully warmed up, vs one that is cold. When cold, the gear change is notchy, the diff is clunky, throttle response is a little jerky, and the interior squeeks and rattles are more apparent. I test drove mine when warm, and upon collection drove home from cold - suffice to say that i was more than a little worried on that first drive home. Guess what im trying to say is make sure the car properly warmed up during the test drive.
Parki

Z3 roadster 1.9

Post by Parki »

I have no experience of 2.8's but in general if you have any doubts about a car - unless you know exactly what needs fixing & how much that will be & that is reflected in the price - walk away - there are lots of examples out there so try a few more - if you walk away from a good one you'll never know but if you buy any car with expensive & effectively unsolvable problems you'll regret it! a good Z is great to drive.
100GRA
Z Register member

Z3 roadster 2.8

Post by 100GRA »