Z4 programmable functions scanner tool

UK forum for general and technical discussion about the Z4 roadster and Z4 Coupe
Ztew4rt

Z4 roadster 2.5i

Z4 programmable functions scanner tool

Post by Ztew4rt »

Hi. Forgive me as I am a newbie here, but is there a scanner tool that can be bought for a reasonable sum, that will allow not just the resetting of fault lights etc, but will allow programming of functions like auto door locking and those other options.

I just got my z4 second hand from a main dealer, but didn't know about the programmable options at the time, now my local dealer (not where I bought the car) wants to charge me £40 for pluging in the scanner, plus £8-95 for each item that is programmed!

I figured this must be something I could do myself?

Hope someone can help...
jimmithemoonlite

Z4 sDrive35iS

Re: Z4 programmable functions scanner tool

Post by jimmithemoonlite »

Hi,

Yes there is a tool called "carly for bmw" available from ebay and Amazon for £40-£50 but they are specific to either I.O.S. Or Android but cost the same.
Then go onto Google play or Apple app store and purchase the carly for bmw app PRO.
The app costs around £47, then just follow the installation instructions then you are ready to use your Apple or Android device which will list all the functions and parameters you can change.
Hope that helps

John
Gazza

M roadster S54

Post by Gazza »

I believe the IOS version requires a Bluetooth adaptor.
Gazza

"Understeer is when you hit the wall with the front of the car, oversteer is when you hit the wall with the rear of the car. Horsepower is how fast you hit the wall and torque is how far you take the wall with you"

Z3 S54 M roadster Image, BMW Z1, BMW M3 CSL, Z4M Coupe
ImageImage
Robert T
Site Admin

Z3 roadster 1.9

Post by Robert T »