If Scotland goes!

Idle chit-chat and banter. Let your hair down, but remember there are kids about!
eddie1

Z3 roadster 2.8

If Scotland goes!

Post by eddie1 »

Well Zee-volk, what to do if our Scottish brethren leave us! The old Union Flag, will that go too? What of our visits North of the border, customs? I suppose Scottish meets will literally mean a visit to a foreign country! Politically I'm not bothered either way, if they go they go. It will be a shame but its their choice so good luck to them.

eddie1
Jet

blank

Re: If Scotland goes!

Post by Jet »

A lot of it hinges on whether they keep the Sterling, businesses in Scotland servicing England Customers, Taxes, Interest rates will change, pensions, increased risks, weaker Defence, possible increase in fuel, I am not an expert, but it impacts us all to a degree, its a little more complicated than removing a section of the flag and rebuilding Hadrian wall ;)
TaffZee

blank

Post by TaffZee »

There is a lot more to it than that:

If Scotland does decide to leave, the United Kingdom would be the first advanced industrialised democracy to separate in the postwar era. It would be an undignified end for a country that in its 307-year history has done more to shape the modern world than any other. The world we live in is one that England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland have, in large part, created together.

Scots must look to the horizon before they go into the voting booth. If they decide against reviving a border that was dissolved in the early modern era, it will show that the spirit of the Enlightenment that made Britain great lives on. But if they opt for separation, they will have managed something that no foreign foe has ever achieved. They will have ended Britain :wave
Image1998 Atlanta Blue 2.8
Davejue1

Z3 roadster 2.8

Post by Davejue1 »